Vegan (Superfood) Chocolate Brownies !!

So I’m not going to lie, I like sweet things. “Sweet tooth” doesn’t quite cover it, but might go someway to explaining why I jumped at the chance to eat 9 (!!!) consecutive chocolate bars, when challenged by a “friend” at college –  added bonus, my “friend” even provided the bars. This tendency to over indulge in all things sweet might, also explain why I have always been a little bit well rounded.

Since going vegan about 6 months ago, I have eschewed most sweet treats but just recently, my cravings have come bubbling (sometimes quite violently) to the surface. I love a Nakd Cashew Cookie bar as much as the next person, in fact they satisfied my cravings for quite a while, but at the moment they just don’t quite cut it.

My absolute fave (do far) of all the Nakd bars
My absolute fave (so far) of all the Nakd bars

This week I discovered Camden Markets’ Cookies & Scream. I traipsed across town in the rain, to purchase a selection of sweet vegan treats for my boyfriends birthday.

Vegan Birthday treats for the boyf' from Cookies & Scream
Vegan Birthday treats for the boyf’ from Cookies & Scream

Now, delicious as they were, and believe me they really were – I devoured most of them, big surprise! – unless you make them yourself, you can never be entirely sure of exactly what goes in to these delicious morsels.

So I decided to give it a go myself! Here’s the recipe for my “superfood” chocolate brownies. Have a look at the results, give it a go yourself, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts and see how your brownies turn out.

RECIPE

  • 3 x medium sweet potatoes (the “superfood”!)
  • 12 x medjool dates, pitted
  • 75g brown rice flour
  • 100g vegan dark chocolate, melted
  • 100g cacao nibs
  • 100g pistachios, shelled and crushed
  • 1 x generous glug maple syrup
  • 1 x tsp cinnamon
  • 1 x orange, zest of

METHOD

  1. Preheat your oven to 190 degrees
  2. Steam sweet potatoes – you can boil them, but I find they retain too much water that way
  3. Once cooked, use a food processor and pulse sweet potatoes and dates together
  4. Then fold in the rest of the ingredients
  5. Place in brownie baking tin of your choice – I lined mine with baking paper, to make it easier to slide brownies out when baked (my boyfriends’ top tip : use some olive spread to stick baking paper in place)
  6. Cook for somewhere between 20-25 minutes, depending on oven
  7. Remove from baking tin, using the baking paper, and cool on a wire rack
  8. once cooled, after about 15 minutes, dust with cocoa powder (& if you fancy it,  desiccated coconut too)
Mmmm - superfood vegan chocolate brownies
Mmmm – superfood vegan chocolate brownies

Store in the fridge – they’re actually better the next day, after they’ve had time to set. Give it a go. Play with the ingredients, maybe add some dried fruit, or different nuts? Let me know how you get on. I’d love to see the results and what other flavour combinations you’ve enjoyed. Oh and by the way, these are a great source of vegan protein. 100g vegan dark chocolate contains 10g protein!

Check back again soon for more more vegan tips and recipes.

BLOG : http://www.isitveganuk.wordpress.com

INSTAGRAM : @isitveganuk

Leave a Reply

