Vegan (almost raw) Chocolate Orange Tarte

Chocolate Orange Tarte 5

I made chocolate brownies not so long ago, and whilst I loved them – chocolate, what’s not to love, right? – the boyfriend wondered if they might have been better as a pie/tart/torte, something to do with the density. So I have created my Chocolate Orange Tarte and am going to share the recipe with you.

Although not strictly “raw”, this recipe doesn’t require any baking, but does involve some steaming and melting, plus some of the individual ingredients themselves already been cooked in their production.

INGREDIENTS :

For the “tarte” :

  • 500 – 600g sweet potatoes, steamed
  • 4 x tablespoons raw cacao powder
  • 150g organic vegan dark chocolate, melted
  • 3 x tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1 x pinch of salt
  • 1x handful pistachios, crushed
  • 1 x orange,  juice and zest

For the base :

  • 150g almonds, ground
  • 100g walnuts, crushed
  • 100g cashews, crushed
  • 250g medjool dates, blended
  • 3 x tablespoons coconut butter, melted
  • 1 x tablespoon maple syrup

EQUIPMENT :

  • Blender
  • 8 x small tart tins, or 1 x large tin
  • Small saucepan, to melt coconut oil
  • Steamer

METHOD :

  1. First make your base. You can actually use any combination of nuts that you so desire. I like to grind my almonds up to make a “flour”, whilst leaving the walnuts and cashews in bigger pieces, to give my base more of a crunch
  2. Grind or blend your nuts and mix together in a large bowl, adding the blended medjool dates, melted coconut butter and maple syrup
  3. Grease your tart tins, I used Pure Olive spread, and add your base mixture. You’ll need to push the mixture down firmly to form a crust
  4. Place your tart tins in the freezer and start to make your tarte mixture

Chocolate Orange Tarte 8

  1.  Steam the sweet potatoes until soft, this will take about 10-15 minutes
  2. Whilst your sweet potatoes are steaming, melt your dark chocolate and place in a big mixing bowl
  3. Once the potatoes are nice and soft, mash up and add to the melted chocolate, along with the rest of the” tarte” ingredients – cacao powder, maple syrup, salt, pistachios, orange juice and zest
  4. Mix all the ingredients together, take your bases out of the freezer and add tarte mixture. I’d recommend you pipe the mixture in as it will be quite thick. Piping will giving you a neater finish. I did not pipe mine and so, according to the boyfriend, they had a “rustic” look
  5. Place “tartes” in the fridge and let the mixture set

Chocolate Orange Tarte 7

Once these little beauties have set, it should be easy to remove them from their tins. I then dusted mine with more raw cacao power, crushed pistachios and orange peel.

Chocolate Orange Tarte 6

I didn’t use any flour in this receipt as I didn’t want to do any actual baking. However, next time I am going to try baking the bases before adding the “tarte” mixture, to give it a nice crunch and a bit of a different texture.

If you don’t eat these all at once – I tried, but they’re too rich even for me – they’ll need to be kept in the fridge or they will melt. Although, thinking about it now, they might be quite delicious as a melted mess, with a bit of vegan ice cream… mmmmm…

I took these to my yoga course this weekend and I think they were a hit. As promised guys, here’s the recipe, and the recipe for my carrot & walnut cupcakes (with cashew frosting!) will follow soon too!

So that’s that then, my Chocolate Orange Tartes. Make, eat, enjoy, let me know what you think.

Come back soon for more vegan recipes, tips, brands and products. In the meantime check out my Instagram – @isitveganuk.

Leave a Reply

