Vegan Spicy Tomato, Vegetable & Bean Soup

Vegan Tomato, Vegetable & Bean Soup
Vegan Tomato, Vegetable & Bean Soup
I have 2 delicious & exciting new recipes to share with you this week.
First up is a warming wholesome spicy tomato soup, packed full of winter veg and nourishing white beans.
I quite often throw together a vegetable stew but in the interest of value, and wanting to make it last all week for lunch at work, I decided to put my thinking cap on and try something a little different this time.
What I didn’t want was a watery, flavourless soup so this one is jam packed with herbs, spices & tasty vegan stock.
Here’s what you’ll need :
The Ingredients
* 1 x large white onion, diced
* 300g x carrots, peeled & sliced
* 3 x garlic cloves, peeled & minced
* 1 x large red chilli, finely chopped
* 1/2 x large or 1 x medium sweet potato, peeled & sliced
* 1 x medium butternut squash, peeled & sliced
* 1 x courgette, sliced
* 100g x curly kale
* 1 x tin of white beans (I used haricot)
* 1 x tin chopped tomatoes
* 500g x passata
* 1 litre x vegan stock (I used Bouillon)
* 1 tsp x dried basil
* 1 tsp x dried oregano
* 1 tsp x dried thyme
* 1 tbsp x smoked paprika
* 1 x tsp ground cayenne pepper
* Salt & pepper to taste
IMG_1659 IMG_1661
I know what you’re thinking & you’re right, that is a lot of ingredients. Feel free to leave out or substitute whatever you fancy. I used what I had in the fridge but this is such a versatile recipe that you can pretty much use what ever veg you have. Next time I might even add some wholewheat fusilli pasta too!
Here’s how you make it :
Ooh one more thing first; I’ve been trying not to cook with oil recently. I know some have a lot of health benefits in them (rapeseed oil for example, is low in saturated fats, packed with omega 3 & vitamin E, high in monounsaturated fats and contains no artificial preservatives and is trans fat and GM free!), but they contain so many calories that I’ve been looking for a lighter way. Bear with me here, I’ve been using water. Just enough to coat whatever I’m cooking, and create a little steam. You don’t get that crispness or chargrilled skins that you might when cooking with oil, but it works just fine & is absolutely calorie free!
 IMG_1658 IMG_1660
The Method
1. Heat about 5mm of water in a large, deep casserole dish
2. Once bubbling add diced onion, sliced carrots, minced garlic and red chilli
3. “Fry” for a few minutes, until the onion starts to soften
4. Next add the sliced courgette, sweet potato and butternut squash, along with all the herbs & spices, and season with salt & pepper
5. Add the stock, passata & tinned tomatoes then simmer for 15 minutes
6. Add the beans and simmer for a further 10 minutes
7. Add the kale and cook for a final 5 minutes – you can adjust seasoning at any point so make sure you taste as you go
8. Serve!
IMG_1664 IMG_1663
I split mine in to Tupperware for the week’s lunches, but you should be able to get about 6 portions out of these ingredients.
Next up Avocado Courgetti + Balsamic Vegetables…
Leave a Reply

