Homemade Vegan Satay Sauce

I’ve always been partial to a satay sauce. Pre-veganism it would have been in the form of a Chinese take away; post (present?)-veganism it is homemade.

Back then I probably thought there was much more to it than there actually is. Now that I make it from scratch, I can share with you how ridiculously easy it actually is, and with very few ingredients.

What you’ll need :

* 1 x red chilli, finely diced
* 2 x garlic cloves, peeled & crushed
* 300ml x vegan vegetable stock (as always, I use Bouillon)
* 2 x generous tbsp vegan 100% peanut butter (I use Meridian)
* 2 x generous tbsp reduced salt soy sauce

2015/01/img_16611.jpg

Vegan stock of choice – Bouillon

2015/01/img_1907.jpg

Vegan 100% peanut crunchy butter – Meridian

How to :

1. In a saucepan “fry” the red chilli & garlic

– You can do this in a little oil (rapeseed or coconut are best), or do as I’ve recently taken to doing in order to cut calories and “fry” in a few tbsp of water. It will cook the chilli & garlic, though you won’t get the usual fried taste or texture (this may be preferable to some). In a sauce, I really don’t think this matters. Just make sure the pan doesn’t dry out –

2. Make around 300ml of vegan vegetable stock & add to the chilli & garlic. Stir to mix

3. Add the peanut butter & soy sauce, then simmer for a few minutes to thicken. Keep stirring the mixture to combine all the ingredients

4. Add to your stir fry or what ever you have planned for your sauce

It’s great as a dipping sauce or I’ve recently used to coat tofu. It’s sticky & crunchy, so adds a great texture! You can also play with the quantities of each ingredient, depending on how thick or spicy you like it; simply add more/less stock, peanut butter, chilli etc.

Tonight, however, I added it to a bunch of stir fried veg & noodles that I’d made for my bestie, Amy!

Leave a Reply

