Homemade Vegan Baked Beans

Before I became vegan… Actually, before I started eating healthily, one of my favourite comfort meals to have at home was pasta with baked beans. Not healthy at all but it was filling and it hit that spot.

Don’t judge me. I didn’t know any better. I even used to make it with sausages! No, not the tins of baked beans + sausages (because that would have been disgusting), but with 99% meat sausages because I thought they were the best quality and so they were better for me!

Fast forward a few months and a huge amount of knowledge & insight later, I still crave a bit of comfort if I’m feeling under the weather (I’m suffering from a cold at the moment). Now I could still easily turn to Heinz for beans & Napolina for whole wheat fusilli pasta to create a perfectly adequate vegan mean, but right now I want more from my food.

I’m trying to cut out added sugar, so I thought about making my own baked beans. How hard can it be, right?

So here’s my Homemade Vegan Baked Beans recipe :

🍃What you’ll need for 2 servings :

🌿 1x tin beans (I used rosecoco), drained
🌿 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced
🌿 1x 500ml passata
🌿 1x garlic clove, crushed / diced
🌿 1x tsp maple syrup, molasses or similar
🌿 2x tbsp balsamic vinegar
🌿 1x tsp smoked paprika
🌿 1x tsp cayenne pepper
🌿 1x tsp coconut oil
🌿 salt & pepper to season

IMG_2298

🍃 How you do it :

🌿 Melt coconut oil in a large saucepan, then add the sliced red onion & crushed garlic clove.
🌿 Cook on a low heat until the red onion is translucent.
🌿 Add the balsamic vinegar & let it sizzle for a few minutes – this is one of my fave cooking smells!

IMG_2297
🌿 Add cayenne & smoked paprika spices and cook through for a few minutes.
🌿 Once heated through & releasing all those spicy smells, add your choice of beans to the saucepan and stir through to mix.

IMG_2299
🌿 Next add the passata, maple syrup and seasoning.
🌿 Stir to combine.

IMG_2300
🌿 Finally, simmer for about 15-20 minutes until sauce reduces down. Your sauce will thicken & turn a deep, rich red colour.

IMG_2301
🌿 That’s it, you’re ready to serve!

I chose to use my favourite newest kitchen gadget and spiralized 1/2 a cougette to make… You guessed it, courgetti spaghetti.

IMG_2303
There you have it, a healthy alternative to an old favourite comfort meal.

IMG_2302-0
I may have the other half of the beans with a baked sweet potato tomorrow night. Or maybe as a side to Mexican veggie wraps. Or on toasted rye bread. Or… I could go on & on.
Who says you can’t have your old favourite comfort food, made healthy and nutritious?!

Leave a Reply

