Dinner at Ottolenghi, Islington

The boyf and I went for a “quick” bite to eat at Ottolenghi, Islington tonight. I use the inverted commas as we only had the table for 90 minutes & he was 40 minutes late.



Ottolenghi, Upper Street, Islington – London

It’s ok though; we’re quick eaters & it meant I got to order myself a glass of red while I chose what we were going to eat.

Here’s what I went for :

To start, from the cold counter :



🌱 Sprouting broccoli, courgette, samphire & green olive tapenade, sorrel + poppy seeds £9.50

🌱 Poached quince, bitter mixed leaves, spicy pecan nuts, Roquefort (on the side) + orange blossom dressing £9.50

Followed by, from the hot kitchen :



🌱 Tempura vegetables, burnt aubergine + truffle honey (on the side) £11.00

🌱 Char-grilled calçot onions, romesco sauce + paprika breadcrumbs £10.00

We were so hungry that when the vegetable tempura were brought out, we dived straight in! I forgot to take a photo but here’s one from another diner:



The service was exceptional and the staff were just attentive enough, especially while I was waiting for my better half; on hand nearby if I needed them, but not fussing or hovering.

The food was good & I would recommend Ottolenghi for a special occasion. However for what it is, I find it quite pricey and the dishes aren’t particularly big, tapas / meze sized.

We / I ordered 4 plates for the 2 of us to share and while it was enough to fill us up, I could have eaten more – but maybe this says more about me than the restaurant! You can see how hungry we were from our (figuratively) licked clean plates.



Our organic wine was quite nice but (probably for the best) only served in 125ml glasses for £5.25+, or by the bottle.

If the dishes were priced between £5-7 each, I’d say it was good value & I’d definitely become a regular. Priced as they are, it seems a little expensive to me.

You can order the cold dishes to go from the deli and these might be a little more reasonably priced.



They also do some amazing looking cakes & pastries. In fact I’ve walked past this place so many times  in the past and always thought it was a coffee / cake shop. 



There are 3 other branches in London if you’re interested in seeking one out :

  • Nopi, Warwick Street
  • Ottolenghi Notting Hill, Ledbury Road
  • Ottolenghi Belgravia, Motcomb Street

You can also order hampers, vouchers and items from their online pantry. Many of these items can also be bought in store; pickles, chutneys, breads, oils & vinegars etc.



Their website also has an amazing selection of recipes (some of which can be adapted for a vegan diet) and also their own cookbook! 



I did enjoy our meal, the restaurant is beautiful & I’m glad I’ve been, but I’m not sure I’d go back.

Leave a Reply

