British Pie Week : Vegan Mushroom Pie

This week has been British Pie week. My mum celebrated by making a goats cheese & caramelised red onion pie on Monday. I know it’s not vegan, but they’re carnivores and it was at least for Meat Free Monday.

I wanted to celebrate the week in my own little vegan way so today I made a vegan Mushroom, Butternut Squash & Spinach Pie.



Aware of the health benefits of brown rice, I adapted a regular pastry recipe, veganising it using brown rice flour.

10 Health Benefits of Brown Rice Flour :

🌱1. Rich in Selenium promoting decreased risk of cancer, heart disease and arthritis

🌱2. High in Manganese to help you body synthesise fats

🌱3. Rich in naturally occurring oils to normalise cholesterol levels

🌱4. High dietary fiber content promotes weight loss maintaining bowel regularity

🌱5. A whole grain reduces the risk of heart disease keeping cholesterol low

🌱6. Rich in antioxidants, similar levels to blueberries and strawberries

🌱7. Natural high fiber content can prevent colon cancer

🌱8. Slow release of sugar stabilises blood sugar reducing rush of diabetes

🌱9. Great as baby food due to high natural nutrition

🌱10. Can be used to treat yeast infections in women by helping over sensitive digestive systems heal from overgrowth of candida organisms

I was originally going to make a Moroccan spiced pie but when I woke up this morning, I just didn’t fancy it. I know, it was 8am, who fancies Morccoan cuisine at that time in the morning, right? But I had already started thinking of mushrooms.

I love mushrooms. I wonder if this love stemmed from my sister’s “allergy” when we were younger; I’d always get her share – you’d think it might have made me sick of them, but au contraire! 

I’ve always enjoyed a mushroom, even more so since becoming vegan. Portobello mushrooms in particular are just so “meaty” and versatile; fry them, grill them, stir fry them, dry them, stuff them… But today I wanted them in a pie.

The ingredients



ignore the broccoli, i was going to serve with it


For the pastry base :

🌱 300g flour (I used a mixture, equal parts brown rice flour, almond flour, plain flour)

🌱 50g vegan margarine (I used Pure)

🌱 3-4 tbsp unsweetened almond milk

🌱 1/2 tsp organic sea salt

🌱1/2 tsp baking powder

For the pastry lid :

🌱 200g flour (as above)

🌱 30g vegan margarine

🌱2-3 tbsp unsweetened almond milk

🌱 1/4 tsp organic sea salt

🌱1/4 tsp baking powder

For the filling :

🌱 500g fresh mushrooms (I used 250g portobello + 250g chestnut), sliced

🌱 1/2 butternut squash, peeled + deseeded

🌱 2x red onions, peeled + sliced in to chunks

🌱 Generous handful spinach

🌱 2x tsp sage (can use dried or fresh)

🌱 2 tsp rosemary (again dried or fresh finely chopped)

🌱 2x garlic cloves, finely sliced

🌱 Handful of pine nuts

🌱 200ml vegan vegetable stock (as always, I used Bouillon)

🌱 Coconut oil to cook in

🌱 Ground pepper + organic sea salt for seasoning

How to :

  1. Preheat oven to 180-200C
  2. Mix all the pastry base & top ingredients together separately and knead until combined to a pastry-like constistency
  3. Use 2 sheets of greaseproof paper to roll out the pastry base/top until thin & large enough to fill/cover your desired pie case
  4. Place your base pastry in the pie case, trim edges, using any cut offs to fill in any holes
  5. Line pastry with greaseproof paper + fill with baking peas, rice or lentils, to blind bake for about 10 minutes before removing the baking peas and returning to the oven again for 5 minutes more
  6. Whilst your pastry base is baking, start on your filling. Melt some coconut oil in a large frying pan and fry red onions until soft, should take about 10 minutes
  7. In a separate pan, melt a little more coconut oil and begin to fry your chosen mushrooms
  8. Once onions are softened, add butternut squash to the pan and fry together for a further 10 minutes, after which you can add garlic, rosemary, sage + seasoning
  9. Your pastry base should be blind baked by now, remove from over & allow to cool
  10. Add spinach & cooked mushrooms to the onion + butternut squash, stirring to combine and let the spinach wilt
  11. Stir in the vegetable stock and allow to coat your pie filling, reducing if you need to
  12. Pile your filling in to pastry base, sprinkle pine nuts on top, then cover with pastry top, pricking about 6 small holes in the lid to allow steam to cook
  13. At this point you can either allow to cool & refrigerate until needed, or wash with almond milk and bake in over for about 30-35 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and pie is emitting a delicious mushrooms aroma
  14. Serve!



Next time I might add tofu to this pie but as I was eating this with my non-vegan parents, I left it out this today. Feel free to play with the filling quantities. I used more mushrooms in mine, but you could swap and use more butternut squash in yours. Chives might also be a nice addition. 

Pie week is over now but there’s always a reason for pie so give it a go and let me know your recipe and how you get on.

Leave a Reply

