Raw Vegan Nut, Seed + Cacao Hearts

Just a quick post today to tell you about the Raw Vegan Nut, Seed + Cacao Hearts I made at the weekend.

I wanted to jazz up my usual protein balls so I made them in to little hearts, using a silicone ice cube mould. I love using these to make sweet treats as they come in so many different shapes; I’m on the lookout for something “Easter-y” at the moment, if anyone can point me in the right direction?

Anyway, I digress, these are so simple to make and they are raw so no cooking involved, retaining all their natural nutritious goodness.


Here’s what I used, but feel free to play around with the ingredients, I tend to just use up what I have in my cupboards. Your quantities will vary depending on the size and shape of your mould. I always find it’s better to make too much than too little. I like to taste as I go – of course, who doesn’t, right? – and you can always revert back to good old protein balls if you run out of space in your mould. I ended up making 12 hearts, with enough mixture left over to make 6 balls, which I rolled in the leftover cacao chocolate and coconut.

·         Desiccated coconut

·         Porridge oats, steel cut if you’re gluten-free

·         Your preferred mixture of nuts and seeds – I used cashews and almonds + sunflower and pumpkin seeds

·         Dates, medjool if poss as they are best

·         4x tbsp maple syrup – 2x tbsp for the protein mixture + 2x tbsp for the cacao chocolate topping. You can add more or less depending on the size of your sweet tooth and mould of course

·         Coconut oil, melted –  1x tbsp for the protein mixture + 4-5x tbsp for the cacao chocolate topping

Do you know how good this stuff is for you? Check out post featuring some of the amazing ways coconut oil can be used in your cooking and beauty regime

·         3x tbsp raw organic cacao powder – 1x tbsp for protein mixture + 2x tbsp for cacao chocolate topping

Raw cacao is made by cold-pressing unroasted cocoa beans. The process keeps the living enzymes in the cocoa and removes the fat (cacao butter)

You can use regular cocoa powder but your creations won’t be raw

You might also need to use more cocoa powder, in order to get the same depth of chocolate flavour as cacao

 

Add your favourite vegan friendly protein to ramp up the protein content. They’re then great little snacks for an immediate post workout protein hit.

And how you make them :

1.       Sprinkle a little desiccated coconut in the bottom of your moulds, this will give them nice little coconut tops

2.       Put nuts, seeds, oats, dates, 1x tbsp cacao powder + more desiccated coconut in a food processor and blend to desired consistency

3.       Add in 2x tbsp maple syrup and 1x tbsp coconut oil and blend once more, until the mixture becomes thick and sticky, then pack tightly in to your moulds

4.       Mix the remaining melted coconut oil and cacao powder to make a rich cacao chocolate, then drizzle on top of your moulds, creating what will become their lovely chocolate bottoms

5.       Put in your freezer for about 30 minutes and until set and they’re ready to devour. Make sure you keep them in the fridge when not eating, as this will keep them set and fresh!

 

raw vegan nut, seed + cacao hearts

 

Let me know how you get on making these. I think some bunnies would be fun for Easter, now where would I get that mould from? Post your pictures on Instagram tagging me so I can see your creations!

 

Leave a Reply

