Zizzi Ristorante

Those of you that follow me on Instagram, will know that I love a pizza. Always have. I loved a pizza pre-veganism, mostly from Dominos – the boyfriend and I used to celebrate a Tuesday with a “Two for…” deal and watch American sports on TV. Now I’m vegan & he’s veggie, it’s Pizza Hut (a new love!) or Pizza Express.

Pizza Express
Pizza Express


I’ve spent a lot of time eating pizza, so I like to think I know a thing or two, and while I’m still perfecting the art of making at home, when it comes to pizza restaurant chains, I thought I knew where it was at.

The Three Johns
The Three Johns


Pizza Express has always been my “go to” when I’m out and in the mood for something hot and Italian – they have a vegan pizza on their menu for God’s sake! But last night I might have found a new favourite…

  

At the suggestion of one of my closest friends, Amy, we dined at Zizzi. To be honest, if she wasn’t such a good friend, I might not have trusted her judgement in the first place, but she is, so we went, and I loved it!

Unlike my beloved Pizza Express, they don’t have a vegan pizza on their menu, but they do have a vegan menu! In actual fact it’s an allergens menu, but I have never seen one, or even heard of such a thing before last night, so I got pretty excited about it. On this hallowed menu they list items from each section of their menu that either already are or can be adapted to be vegan friendly, listing what it is you need to request be removed.

They also have specific vegetarian, gluten-free, milk-free, sesame and lupin-free, nut and peanut-free, crustacean-free, mollusc-free, fish-free, egg-free, celery-free, mustard-free, soybean, sulphide dioxide and sulphite-free pages!


With the help of my new best friend (the menu) we ordered :

Fava Pepe

Basil broad bean chips + roquito pepper pearls.


and

Bruschetta


Confit baby plum tomatoes on garlic brushed ciabatta, smoked garlic oil + basil – minus the topped riserva cheese.


NEW Skinny pizza primavera


Roasted aubergine, artichokes, peppers, slow roasted tomatoes, olives & fresh oregano – minus the goats cheese but with added mushrooms, onions and green chilies.

Our Fava Pepe starter was vegan without any alterations and completely new to me. I haven’t seen anything like this on a restaurant menu before and what a treat to find a new vegan dish in the most unlikeliest of places.

My “skinny” Primavera pizza was made with Zizzi’s new wholemeal, white + spelt base, served with an Italian naked slaw, under 550kcals and I can thoroughly recommend. Also good to note is that all Zizzi pizza bases and tomato sauces are vegan friendly, so you should be able to order any veggie pizza, minus the cheese, and know that your meal with be vegan friendly.

Amy also had a pizza, but it was meat based, so I won’t bore you with it here!

We didn’t indulge in dessert, although I could have ordered safely using the allergens menu, from a selection of fruity sorbets – not quite “nice cream” but a step in the right direction at least.

I will definitely think twice before I walk in to a Pizza Express again, if there’s a Zizzi nearby. Sorry Pizza Express, but until you update your menu to rival the selection on offer at Zizzi, you might just have lost a once loyal customer – I still love your stripy T-shirts though!

Leave a Reply

