Vegan Pesto Recipe

Whenever in my local supermarket, I always just check out the fresh produce in the reduced section. At the end of the day, there’s usually a bargain to be found. I like to pick up things I can freeze at home to use later :

  • Bananas for nice cream
  • Berries, pineapple or citrus fruits for smoothies

   

Sometimes what’s on offer will dictate my dinner that evening :

  • A 29p bag of carrots for a spicy Asian carrot side dish
  • A 59p butternut squash roasted with red onions, added to quinoa

I even picked up a beautiful bunch of flowers for £1 the other day!  

 
Over the weekend I bought 2 small bunches of fresh basil for 29p each and turned them in to a vegan pesto, which I froze in to cubes, to be used at a later date. Freezing for later use means I can quickly put together a pesto pasta dish after work, without having to buy pesto ingredients and make from fresh. 

You can scale the ingredients up or down, depending on how much basil you have. Here’s what I used :

  • 2x generous handfuls of fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 1x garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1x handful pine nuts, lightly toasted
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon, optional
  • Nutritional yeast, to taste
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Pink Himalayan sea salt + freshly ground black pepper for seasoning

You can use a food processor but I like to mash everything together in a pestle + mortar.

  

  • First add basil + garlic, then mash
  • Add toasted pine nuts, mash again
  •  If you’re using nutritional yeast, add now. I left it out as I had run out
  • Season with salt + pepper
  • Mix in extra virgin olive oil, mixing until you each your desired consistency

I then put my pesto in to an ice cube tray and froze for later use, but you can use straight away, or if your basil is nice and fresh, store in fridge for meals throughout the week.

 
I used 2 pesto “ice cubes” to make pesto pasta for dinner last night. Simply cook your pasta and add pesto cube for pan to melt, adding a little extra virgin olive oil to make a creamy pesto sauce.

  

Tonight I’m thinking pesto mushrooms on rye bread toast… 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Pesto Recipe

Leave a Reply

